Where can you not have an abortion?

A preview of an exclusive for subscribers

Some states protect the right to abortion while others have laws restricting it. This detailed and searchable database shows what is legal by state and where limits exist.

  • June 20, 2022 at 04:00 UTC
  • Updated: June 24, 2022 at 15:37 UTC

In the 50 states and the District of Columbia, there is a mosaic of abortion laws. The U.S. Supreme Court decision overturning Roe v. Wade will bring about restrictions in some states that effectively ban abortions.

An “active law” is a law that will go into effect now that the court has overturned Roe. Many of these laws are almost total prohibitions.

A “pre-Roe ban” refers to a restrictive law established before Roe v. Wade had legalized abortion nationwide. Many of these laws could come into play again now that Roe has been repealed.

Restrictions that states have in place include mandatory counseling, a waiting period, and the consent or notification of the parent or spouse. And the protections that states have include legal protection, which means that abortion rights are enshrined in state laws, and state constitutional protection, which means the state constitution guarantees the right to abortion.

Here’s how current laws vary.

There are no matches. Try a different search.

– Developed by USA TODAY NETWORK Storytelling Studio

Where can you not have an abortion? Source link Where can you not have an abortion?

Related Articles

Back to top button