Leonardo Rivas is named FUSD’s Teacher of the Year | News

Leonardo Rivas has taught his students to be the center of attention in their video news program at Fontana AB Miller High School.

But the day before this year, it was Rivas himself who suddenly got all the attention; he was informed that he had been named Fontana Unified School District Teacher of the Year for 2022.

“I was completely taken by surprise when I was surprised by the news in class. “It was a complete surprise,” Rivas said recently, adding with a smile, “It’s a great honor – something I will always remember.”

Rivas was recognized for his efforts as Miller’s video production teacher, a position he has held for nine years.

“I like video production because it’s something I wish I had when I was in high school,” he said. “Although I still create and do my own projects, I like working with students and seeing them get excited about making and creating art through videos.”

One of those projects was coordinating with the pro Ontario Fury football team, he said.

In addition, the students collaborated on the award-winning dance program at Miller and made six short dance films in collaboration with the Sam Foundation and Alfreda Maloof at Rancho Cucamonga. The films are now being shown publicly.

“It was a very special project,” he said. “We’ve been working for him for months.”

He is now taking over Miller’s duties over the summer, but he stays very busy throughout the school year because he has also taught cinema at Chaffey College for the past six years.

—– The best teachers of the year on THE FUSD school site were:

Bajame Elementare – Nicole P. Lozano

Beech Avenue Elementary – Robin J. Proctor

Kathy Binks Elementary – Starlena R. Aragon

Crest Clement Elementary – Celena Velazquez

Chaparral Academy of Technology – Cynthia T. Au

Citrus Elementary – Laura W. Howell

Cypress Elementary – Debbie L. Hernandez

Primary Date – Diana Esparza

Dolores Huerta International Academy – Ashley A. Silva

Dorothy Grant Innovation Academy – Felecia D. Moore

Hemlock Elementary – Mary Beth Barron

Juniper Elementary – Renee A. Potter

Live Oak Elementary – Delia Quintero

Locust Elementary – Dwayne R. Palasek

Mango Elementary – Marisol Lopez

Maple Elementary – Brenda B. Muro

North Tamarind Elementary – Mary M. Irving

Oak Park Elementary – Elvira M. Lopez

Oleander Elementary – Nancy E. Temple

Palmetto Elementary – Lauren N. Johnson

Poplar Elementary – Courtney L. Spink

Ted J. Porter Elementary – Shavon G. Dunn

Virginia Primrose Elementary – Micaela Ramirez

Randall-Pepper Elementary – Carolyn L. Cardenas

Redwood Elementary – Bret T. Nason

Shadow Hills Elementary – Cynthia S. Butterweck

Sierra Lakes Elementary – Lynn A. Ziemer

South Tamarind Elementary – Cheri L. Mabrie

Tokay Elementary – Eva J. Hernandez

West Randall Elementary – Deborah A. Waltzer

Alder Middle – Timothy Crawford

Almeria Middle – Jean H. Yoo

Fontana Middle – Anya P. Harvey

Wayne Ruble Middle – Rosa E. Acosta

Sequoia e mesme – Michelle L. Cranford

Southridge Tech Middle – Candice D. Ogden

Harry S. Truman Middle – Deneen P. Enoch

AB Miller High – Leonardo Rivas

Eric Birch High – Bethel L. Trice

Citrus High – Michelle A. Bettencourt

Fontana High – Michelle L. Reeves

Jurupa Hills High – Pamela J. Rodriguez

Henry J. Kaiser High – Richard A. Hutchins

High Summit – Patricia E. Connors

Early Education – Preschool – Jody A. Garcia

Fontana Adult School – Guadalupe Berry

Elementary Instruction – Elizabeth A. Shepard.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;
js.src = “//connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1550124928647000”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

Leonardo Rivas is named FUSD’s Teacher of the Year | News Source link Leonardo Rivas is named FUSD’s Teacher of the Year | News

Related Articles

Back to top button