EG City Council adopts final map for council districts | News

Elk Grove City Council unanimously approved a new county map for all four borough districts on April 13th.

This map is based on population totals from the 2020 U.S. Census data for Elk Grove, while the previous map was based on the 2010 census. These renewed county districts will be in effect until at least 2031, when districts will be reviewed based on 2030 census data.

With population changes from 2010 to 2020, this redistricting has restored population equality for each district.

The newly adopted map was selected by the council during its March 23 meeting from multiple potential maps. In making that selection, the council followed a federal law that the redistribution of districts will not result in any racial jerrymandering.

Federal laws also require the redistribution of districts to comply with the Federal Voting Rights Act, as a district does not prohibit the ability of a projected class population to choose its preferred candidate.

To help with the redistricting project, which began on January 26, the city contracted with the National Demographics Corporation, which provided professional demographic services in examining the proposed maps.

The selected map covers the four districts of the municipality and became effective from its adoption on April 13 by the municipality.

On the adopted map is the new District 1, which lies between Laguna and Elk Grove Boulevards, Interstate 5 and Laguna Springs Drive.

The only change in District 1 is an extension in size from Bruceville Road to Laguna Springs Drive. The current representative of District 1 is Deputy Mayor Darren Suen, whose term continues until December 2024.

Bordering the new District 2 are Elk Grove-Florin, Elk Grove, Grant Line, Calvine and Bruceville and Whitelock Parkway.

A former part of District 4 became part of District 2. That area is bounded by Whitelock Parkway, Kammerer and Bruceville and Highway 99.

Board member Pat Hume is currently representing District 2. He announced last year that he would not seek re-election and would instead run for the District 5 seat of the Sacramento County Board of Supervisors in this June’s primary race.

District Services Director Rod Brewer, Elk Grove Planning Commissioner Sergio Robles, and business owner Felipe Martin are running for District 2 council position for the November election.

The newly adopted county district map does not affect District 3, which has the boundaries of Calvine Road, Franklin Boulevard, sections of Highway 99, Elk Grove Boulevard, and Elk Grove-Florin Road.

Board member Kevin Spease is the representative for District 3. His term runs until December 2024.

The district that has experienced the most change in the redistricting process is District 4, which is bounded by Elk Grove Boulevard, Bilby Road, Highway 99 and a portion of Bruceville Road. District 4 continues south on the Franklin Boulevard area.

In the redistricting process, District 4 lost its section of land bounded by Whitelock Parkway, Kammerer and Bruceville and 99.

The representative of District 4 is Stephanie Nguyen, who is running for the newly formed District 10 seat of the Assembly in this June’s primary election.

There are currently no candidates for the District 4 elections this November.

Following the adoption of the map by the council, Mayor Bobbie Singh-Allen congratulated those involved in the district redistribution process that led to that adoption.

“I think we all agree that we wish we had more time, but what you did with this time was quite remarkable, and it provided a lot of opportunities for communities to get involved, get a variety of maps and go through due diligence and the process of identifying a map that had the least amount of worries, “he said.

Singh-Allen added that he believes the new map is a “great product of all that hard work.”

EG City Council adopts final map for council districts | News Source link EG City Council adopts final map for council districts | News

Related Articles

Back to top button